Complimentary Resources from Dr. Getzelman’s ‘How Healthy Aging Begins In Utero’ at UCSF’s 2011 Integrative Medicine Forum

Morgan, Hugh D. et al. “Epigenetic Inheritance at the Agouti Locus in the Mouse.” https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10545949

Barker, D.J.P. “Fetal Origins of Coronary Heart Disease.” http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2550226/pdf/bmj00601-0037.pdf

Giscombe, C. L. & Lobel, M. (2005). Explaining disproportionately high rates of adverse birth outcomes among African-Americans: The impact of stress, racism, and related factors in pregnancy. Psychological Bulletin, 131(5), 662-683. Retrieved from PubMed database.

Glynn, L. M., Hobel, C. J., Sandman, C. A., Schetter, C. D. (2008). Pattern of perceived stress and anxiety in pregnancy predicts preterm birth. Health Psychology, 27(1), 43-51. Retrieved from PubMed database.

PVC shower curtains:  http://www.chej.org/showercurtainreport/documents/VV%20national%20final.pdf

Paul, Anne Murphy.  Origins: How the Nine Months Before Birth Shape the Rest of Our Lives. www.anniemurphypaul.com/

Steingraber, Sandra.  Having Faith, An Ecologist’s Journey To Motherhood. www.steingraber.com

Center for Environmental Health: www.ceh.org

Making Our Milk Safe: www.safemilk.org

Campaign for Safe Cosmetics: www.safecosmetics.org

Physicians for Social Responsibility[SF chapter]: www.sfbaypsr.org

Breast Cancer Fund: www.breastcancerfund.org

Pesticide Action Network: www.panna.org

Childbirth Connection: www.childbirthconnection.org

Children’s Environmental Health Network: www.cehn.org

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services: www.motherfriendly.org

Collaborative on Health and the Environment: www.healthandenvironment.org

TEDx The Endocrine Disruption Exchange: www.endocrinedisruption.com

Environmental Working Group: www.ewg.org

Healthy Child Healthy World: www.healthychild.org

Natural Resources Defense Council: www.nrdc.org/breastmilk

Science and Environmental Health Network: www.sehn.org

Sandra Steingraber: www.steingraber.com

UCSF Report: Shaping Our Legacy: www.prhe.ucsf.edu/prhe/pubs/shapingourlegacy.pdf

Women to Women Discussion on Endocrine Disruptors: www.womentowomen.com/detoxification/endocrinedisruptors.aspx

Washington Toxics Coalition’s Early Exposure Study: www.watoxics.org/publications/earliest-exposures

Dr. Mark Hyman: www.drhyman.com

Institute for Functional Medicine: www.functionalmedicine.org

** A special thanks to EcoBirth for helping to compile resource links! **